Miele

From traditional
premium brand
to smart home innovator

Background

The perception of traditional premium brands is increasingly losing value among younger target groups, while the pressure for innovation from new players in the market is growing. The smart home of the future offers Miele many opportunities for new product experiences and revenue models, but needs the right strategy for its design and implementation.

Overview

zero360 has taken up the challenge and supported the development of Miele's own smart home division. The focus of the project was the development of new products and services as well as the transfer of the premium brand idea into the digital age. In addition to coaching in the development of new visions, products and business models, the simultaneous methodical enablement of the Smart Home employees was a central milestone. This ensured a sustainable transformation. Further activities included the support of the Design Center in strategic topics such as user interface concepts and the cross-departmental empowerment of employees.

Outcomes and results

Discover

  • Development of a vision and strategy for the future of cooking
  • User research with design principles for a new product generation

Create

  • Support the design of new, intelligent project concepts from the coffee machine to the vacuum robots and stovetops
  • Joint validation of technologies such as augmented reality and chatbots through prototyping

Grow

  • Validation of business models for the future use of washing machines
  • Development of new business models, partly rolled out as start-up

Enable

  • Further development and optimization of Design Thinking learning formats
  • Enablement of more than 1,500 employees in agile working methods
"As a premium manufacturer, we have to meet the demand for a holistic user experience with our products. zero360 supports us in anchoring the user focus among our employees and in creating new premium user experiences by applying agile working methods."

Andreas Enslin
Head of Designcenter
Miele

Tools

Agile Working Methods

Business Modelling

Design Thinking

Prototyping

SCRUM

Service Design

Trendradar

User Interviews

We look forward to meeting you!

Miele

Von der traditionellen Premiummarke
zum Smart Home Innovator

Hintergrund

Die Wahrnehmung traditioneller Premiummarken verliert bei jüngeren Zielgruppen zunehmend an Wert, während der Innovationsdruck durch neue Player am Markt immer größer wird. Das Smart Home der Zukunft bietet Miele vielfältige Chancen für neue Produkterfahrungen und Erlösmodelle, braucht aber die richtige Strategie bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung.

Projektüberblick

zero360 hat sich der Herausforderung angenommen und den Aufbau einer eigenen Smart-Home-Sparte für Miele begleitet. Im Fokus unserer Zusammenarbeit stand die ko-kreative Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Services, um den Premiumgedanken der Marke in das digitale Zeitalter zu überführen. Neben des Coachings bei der Entwicklung neuer Visionen, Produkten sowie Geschäftsmodelle, war die zeitgleiche methodische Befähigung der Smart-Home-Mitarbeitenden ein zentraler Meilenstein. So konnte eine nachhaltige Transformation gewährleistet werden. Weitere Aktivitäten waren die Begleitung der Ausrichtung des Design Centers bei strategischen Themen wie User Interface Konzepten sowie die abteilungsübergreifende Befähigung der Mitarbeitenden.

Leistungen und Resultate

Discover

  • Erarbeitung einer Vision und Strategie zur Zukunft des Kochens
  • Konzeption von Gestaltungprinzipien für eine neue Produktgeneration

Create

  • Begleitung in der Konzeption von neuen, vernetzten Projektkonzepten — von der Kaffeemaschine über den Saugroboter bis hin zum Kochfeld
  • Gemeinsame Validierung von Technologien wie Augmented Reality und 
Chatbots durch Prototyping

Grow

  • Validierung von Geschäftsmodellen für zukünftige Nutzung von Waschmaschinen
  • Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle, zum Teil in Umsetzung als Startup

Enable

  • Weiterentwicklung und Optimierung von Design-Thinking-Lernformaten
  • Befähigung von über 1500 Mitarbeitenden in agilen Arbeitsmethoden
„Als Premium Hersteller müssen wir dem Anspruch an ein ganzheitliches Nutzererlebnis mit unseren Produkten gerecht werden. zero360 unterstützt uns, den Nutzerfokus bei unseren Mitarbeitern zu verankern und durch Anwendung von agilen Arbeitsmethoden neue Premium-Nutzererlebnisse zu schaffen.“

Andreas Enslin
Leiter des Designcenter
Miele

Werkzeuge

Agile Arbeitsweisen

Design Thinking

Geschäftsmodell-Entwicklung

Nutzerinterviews

Prototyping

SCRUM

Service Design

Trendradar

Wir freuen uns, Sie kennenzulernen!